New Year, New Blog

11 Nov
It’s mid-November and I’m more than one month in to my second year here in Sevilla, España. I’d been wanting to update my blog for a long time now (www.spanishseduction.com) but there was just too much to catch up on! So, I’ve decided to start again, with a new blog that will focus more on my favorite topic… food!

Living abroad was difficult at first because of the lack of variety in the grocery stores and of good ethnic restaurants. However, I have come to appreciate this initial drawback in many ways lately. First of all, I love Spanish food and the mediterranean diet. It’s very similar to how my family cooked growing up (with the exception of the scary whole fish and cold soups of course!)

Not having a Thai restaurant in Seville forced me to try cooking Thai food, which, although not an amazing success, was far from a failure!


In general, when I have a craving for something not Spanish I have to cook it myself. This makes me appreciate it more, spend less money, and I continue learning new cooking techniques. I also eat a lot less processed foods and know exactly what is in my dinner! (If you think you know what is in your restaurant food, read here: http://eatocracy.cnn.com/2010/11/01/55-chef-josh-grinker/)

Well, without further explanation, here are some pictures from the past few months. Enjoy!

The Oreo birthday cake I baked Alejandro in the country that doesn’t really do cakes!

Sushi is something you can find in Seville, although it’s pretty basic and quite pricy!

Fettucini with clam sauce, yum!

At the “Ham Fair” in Aracena, Spain a waiter slices the cured ham.

This man is selling different varieties of ham.

We had to taste some…

Fresh chestnuts are also typical of Aracena, and look at the beautiful “flower” they grow in!

Fresh mushrooms too… wish I’d had a chance to try them!

One of my favorite tapas: A small slice of toasted bread with salmorejo (cold tomato sauce), cured ham (like prosciutto), and a quail’s egg.
One Response to “New Year, New Blog”

  1. Jimy August 24, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    I totally agree with you appreciating everything more when you have to make it from scratch! When I was pregnant the first time almost 17 years ago (in Spain) I had a craving for cinnamon rolls and philly cheese steak….i made them both and they were good!!

What do you think?

