The Freaky Egg and Other Tapas

19 Jan
Obviously one of the best things about living in Seville are the tapas. Perfect portions for people who love trying more than one thing (like me!) and cheap (only $2-$4 each)! They are one of the things I always miss about Spain when I leave… the enormous portions and prices in most US restaurants are enough to make me cringe.

These past few weeks have been busy, but I’ve managed to try a few new tapas places in the city. The first is a French inspired little bar/restaurant on Calle Juan Antonio Castebany called Le Maison. I was expecting to see some delicious French wines on their menu, but unfortunately it was the typical Spanish mix. There weren’t too many tapas to choose from (which made it easier to decide) but there was an interesting mix and at great prices. The portions are quite small (even for tapas) but they were really good and for the price I would definitely go back. Another plus was that they had desserts! I rarely ever order dessert in Seville as most places either don’t offer them or they aren’t very good. These weren’t anything new, but they were just right to end the night.

Roasted Zucchini and Mozzarella Tower with Caramelized Onion and Basil Infused Oil

Grilled Chicken With Curry (Nothing Special but a Welcomed Bit of Variety)


You Can Never go Wrong With Goat Cheese, Honey, and Roasted Almonds

Desserts! Molten Chocolate Cake and Nutella/Banana Crepe

Another new place we tried based on a recommendation was the extremely popular and tiny bar called Zurrutaque. It was a bit far for us (near the Prado) but we were bored on a Friday night and didn’t mind the walk. We arrived early for a Friday (about 9:30 pm) and luckily got the last seats at the bar. The place has only 4 or 5 tables and 6 bar stools. It should fit a maximum of 20 people, although when we left I’ll bet there were almost 30!

The place had a decent wine list for Seville and a good amount of tapas to choose from. The tapas are on the “expensive” side (€3-€4) but the portions are good. We shared a braised lamb over spinach, seared tuna on cous-cous, and the “freaky egg/huevo friki” their seemingly only stretch into molecular gastronomy. Everything was very good and the food was a bit more classy than the typical bars in Seville. Nothing , however, blew me away. I’d go back again, but since it’s a bit far for me I’m not sure I actually will! They also did have desserts (and they looked amazing) but I was just too full!

Grilled Tuna Over Cous-Cous

Lamb With Spinach and Pine Nuts

The Freaky Egg! Bacon, Egg, and Potato (I think)… Delicious!
2 Responses to “The Freaky Egg and Other Tapas”

  1. Sarah January 20, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Lauren- I CANNOT read this blog! It makes me hungry and miss Spain A LOT!!!

  2. Lauren January 27, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Haha Saaaaa! Come back please!

What do you think?

