When in France…

6 Feb
I can’t imagine traveling without trying the typical foods from the place I’m visiting. I don’t need to eat at the best restaurants or try EVERYTHING, but a trip without new culinary experiences would be a sad trip for me! Lately, before traveling, I always try to find a list of restaurant options. I look for authentic places, that range in price from very cheap to moderately expensive. At this point in my life (AKA I make $1,000 a month) I don’t have the money for the expensive places, and even if I did, it bothers me to pay too much for food knowing that there is always a great and authentic place for a reasonable price if you only look for it.

In Marseille we ate a lot of great things, but we only went to a restaurant twice! The rest of our meals were from small bakeries and cafés. I really could have spent the whole trip living off of quiche, pastries, and crepes, but I also wanted to try an authentic French restaurant. After pouring over the reviews on tripadvisor.com, and then comparing the websites and prices of each restaurant, I had narrowed down the potential list to four places. Each place had a fixed price menu that changed daily. They ranged per person (at lunchtime) from 16-25 euro. We took a walk on Monday afternoon to see what each restaurant was offering that day, and finally we ended up eating at a small place called L’Aromat.

We chose well, as the restaurant was comfortable, chic, had great service, and the food was delicious. Including 2 glasses of wine/beer each, bread and cheese, appetizers, entrees, dessert/coffee, and 10% tip, we paid only 25 euro each.

Here’s what we had:

The Afternoon Menu Posted Outside of the Restaurant

Cream of Saffron-Fennel Soup and an Anchovy-Polenta Croquette

Beef and Onion Fajitas

Lamb and Zucchini Pita with Sliced Almonds

White fish with Melted Goat Cheese, Eggplant, and Parmasean Cheese Sauce

An Elaborate Ice Cream Cake… Not Exactly Sure What Was in It!

Tropical Fruit Mousse (on the Bottom) and a Rum Granita on Top

Overall, it was a great meal and a very reasonable price. The restaurant itself was really cute and comfortable. If anyone plans on going to Marseille I would happily recommend L’Aromat.
What do you think?

