A Few Last Thank You Notes

13 Aug

A few days ago I wrote about finishing my thank you notes, then I realized that isn’t really true. I still plan to write hand written notes to many of the people I hired for the event, as well as leave them good reviews in different online forums.

But I also wanted to thank them here. This second wedding was much different than the first one because it was at my parents’ house. This made it super special and unique, full of personal touches and details, but also a lot more work… if that’s even possible! Originally, I thought we could do everything ourselves—catering, flowers, I-pod DJ, the cake… But as planning the Spanish wedding took up more and more of my time and I found myself second-guessing even having an American celebration, I realized I needed help quickly! I expected finding people to be difficult at only a few months notice (or less in some cases) but I was surprised to find wonderful people were available and willing to work within my vision and budget. Here are my superstars:

David Lemenager (86 Winter): We contacted David at the recommendation of a local tent company and while I was in the US for Easter I went with my parents for a tasting. I’d already communicated with him by e-mail about my ideas for the reception and the budget. He had responded with a ton of information and options. Our tasting was outstanding. We tried about 10 different small plates since I wanted to do the reception tapas style, playing on the Spanish theme. Each was delicious. After contracting him things only got better. He went above and beyond caterer duties and acted as our wedding advisor, accompanying my mother to the rental companies, giving suggestions about what we should and shouldn’t order, even ordering us flowers at cost. The reception went perfectly, the food was excellent, and his staff was wonderful. I can’t recommend David and 86 Winter enough, as a caterer and a restaurant!

The delicious mascarpone filled strawberries that ended our meal.

DJ Sense: Based out of Haverhill I originally found DJ Sense on gigmasters.com. He had worked over 60 events and had tons of great reviews, he spoke Spanish just incase we had some Spanish guests, and he responded to all emails within the hour! Did I mention his price was also one of the most reasonable I found? He provided all the music for the wedding, from pre-ceremony through the very end of the night. He was professional, fun, attentive, and played great music. I highly recommend him to DJ any Massachusetts wedding!

Looking Glass Modern Wedding Photography: Desperate at the very last minute for a photographer I searched Craigslist in hope of finding someone decent and reasonable. After seeing numerous adds for the cheesiest, posiest types of photography at exorbitant prices I’d just about given up hope when I saw an offer that seemed too good to be true. A new photographer wanting to build up her wedding portfolio was offering to shoot weddings for FREE all summer! After checking out her website I contacted her and we agreed to meet when I returned from Spain. Caitlin was nothing but professional and lovely from our first meeting. She shot our entire day from start to finish, even bringing a second photographer along. I haven’t seen the final results yet but I’m sure they are brilliant. I would highly recommend her and wish her a long and happy career!

Other shout outs:

Rhode Island Rentals provided us with all rentals: tent, ceremony arch, linen, etc. I didn’t have too much contact with them but my mother ensures me they had a lovely selection and their crew did a fantastic job setting up and taking down everything.

Our pretty white arch.

Pronuptia Bridals: They provided my mother and sister’s dresses for both weddings and were super helpful and friendly. You can tell they really love what they do!

Sunshine Landscapers (Cherry Valley): They made my yard look fantastic, serving as a beautiful base for my mom’s many plants and flowers.

D&T Pest Control: The only bad part about otherwise perfect summer nights are the horrible mosquitoes. But after getting our yard fogged by this company we were practically 100% mosquito free for at least a week. It was amazing!

Hallman’s Portable Toilets: Sounds funny to mention but they had excellent customer service and provided a VIP portapotty, which I may not have ventured into, but many guests used without complaint!

So thank you again to everyone and I hope that other brides and grooms to be find your services as helpful as we did! Muchas gracias!

 

What do you think?

