Antonia’s Salmorejo Recipe

22 Sep

The first time I wrote about one of my favorite Spanish foods was here. I had just made some for the first time on my own and was very proud that it had turned out almost exactly like my mother-in-law’s. Antonia makes the best Salmorejo I’ve ever had. I’ve tried others in Cordoba, Sevilla, and Cadiz but nothing has ever been quite as delicious. Salmorejo is one of those things that you eat and you feel 100% satisfied and super healthy at the same time. It’s a great food for keeping trim and is loaded with antioxidants.

I’ve been trying to get my family hooked for a long time without much luck. I think it’s something you have to get used to. I didn’t like it the first time I tried it either and now I’ve eaten it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner con ganas! But despite their initial skepticism I have managed a few converts. My Mom appreciates it and my best friend Holly loves it too.

After such a long time singing its’ praises I know I owe everyone the recipe. So, here it is, the BEST Salmorejo you will ever try. It’s also easy to make and inexpensive. Let me know if you try the recipe!

Antonia’s Salmorejo

Ingredients:

8 Medium Tomatoes (the quality of the tomatoes is one of the most important factors in the taste)

1 Medium Baguette

1 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil (again, quality is important)

1 Clove of Garlic (not too big)

A Splash of Sherry Vinegar (Vinagre de Jerez, although red wine can be substituted)

A Pinch of Salt

2 Hard Boiled Eggs

Sliced Serrano Ham (or Prosciutto)

1. Scald the tomatoes: Put a large pot of salted water on the stove and bring to a boil. Cut a small cross in the bottom of each tomato. When the water is boiling add the tomatoes for 30-60 seconds. Remove immediately and place in a cold water bath (a bowl filled with ice and cold water). The skin will peel right off of the tomatoes.

2. First Blend: Cut out the cores of the tomatoes and add all the rest to your blender. Blend at high-speed for about 30 seconds until the tomatoes are broken down.

3. Add bread: Take all of the “guts” out of your baguette and add them to the blended tomatoes. The baguette should have given about 2-3 cups of guts and you can experiment with how much you add, as this is how you change the texture. I use about 2 cups of the bread guts. Let the bread soak in the tomato juice for about 5 minutes.

3. Second Blend: Add the splash of vinegar, salt, and garlic and blend until the soup is an even texture and the bread is completely broken down.

4. Add Oil: If your blender has it, open the small hole in the top. Slowly add the olive oil as you are blending at a moderate speed. If it doesn’t have the hole, stop and go adding little by little.

5. Add Egg and Adjust: Add 1 hardboiled egg and blend until incorporated. Taste and adjust levels of salt, vinegar, garlic, and bread.

6. Serve and Enjoy: Serve in small bowls with diced hardboiled egg and sliced ham as condiments. Serve cold! Enjoy!

El Mejor Salmorejo del Mundo

11 Responses to “Antonia’s Salmorejo Recipe”

  1. Holly September 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Awesome! Thanks so much for sharing. I will hopefully try this next week before the in-season local tomatoes are non-existent!

  2. chicaandaluza September 22, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Perfect – sounds like we make this exactly the same way! I adore Salmorejo and could eat it at every meal in the summer 🙂

    • Lauren September 22, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      That’s so funny… it’s true that her recipe doesn’t have any “secret” to it! But many people don’t blend in an egg… I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  3. christineinspain September 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    SO trying out your recipe soon!!

  4. frugalfeeding September 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I’ve got a traditional Spanish family’s salmorejo recipe to post. I really need to get around to it. It is soooo delicious.

    • Lauren September 22, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

      Mmm please let me know when you do!

  5. Kristen - Anywhere There's An Airport September 24, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    Looks delicious! The Spaniard’s mother makes the best gazpacho. Of course there is no recipe. “little of this, little of that” – I have a list of things to learn from her. Better get cracking! 🙂

  6. Cassandra Gambill September 25, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I hand’t thought of scalding the tomatoes, but I will have to try it. My own salmorejo comes out a bit chunky due to the fact that I only have one of those hand mixers and no real blender. Thanks for the receta!

    • Lauren September 25, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Oh man, investing in a good blender last year was one of the best things I did! It made my life easier and much more delicious!

  7. Lindsay September 29, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Yummmmm this sounds SO good to me! I just got settled in my apartment and have been starting to cook. I really want to learn to cook Spanish food! I don’t have a blender, but I may have to give in and buy one. If you have any other Spanish recipes or meal ideas, I would love to have them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spanish Mealtimes: When do Spanish people eat? « spanishsabores - October 24, 2011

    […] An ideal menú del día would be a bowl of refreshing salmorejo followed by solomillo al whiskey or secreto ibérico (a delicious cut of Iberian pork). Creamy […]

What do you think?

