My New Home

26 Oct

I can’t believe we’ve almost been in Madrid for a month now. It seems like we just moved in yesterday, and we’re still working on decorating, organizing, and making out little apartment more of a home!

So far we’ve been lucky to find an awesome place!

With a view:

Our View

Close to the essentials:

Fruterías

Retiro Park

Metro

And I’ve been surprised at some American comforts!

Dunkin Donuts (AKA Dunkin Coffee)

Organic Eggs

A 24 Hour Store (or 25?)

As well as memories of my darling Andalucía:

Olives

Salmorejo

I’ve turned the big 25!

And started a side business– Spanish Cooking Classes!

Cooking with Spanish Sabores!

We’ve been exploring the city this sunny October…

Its monuments:

And markets

San Anton Market

Frozen Yogurt!

Hopefully November will be just as exciting. So far we tentatively plan to:

– Learn to make sushi

– Go see a concert

– Have Ale’s parents visit

– Run a 5K

– Decorate our apartment!

We’ll see what we actually end up doing. For now, we’re happy to be here!

 

10 Responses to “My New Home”

  1. Christine October 26, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Congrats!The cooking classes sound like fun. Here’s to more good things to come.
    p.s. I didn’t think I could love olives more until I moved to Malaga.

  2. Kristen - Anywhere There's An Airport October 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Happy to have you! 🙂

  3. Liz October 26, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    So fun! I love making sushi, although I’ve never done it totally on my own. Please post pretty sushi pics.

  4. christina October 26, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    woah, woah, woah! I’ve been following your blog because you do the cooking demos…BUT, I just realized you live by Menendez Pelayo…me too! When is the schedule for upcoming classes??

    • Lauren October 27, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      Hey Christina! Probably the first Sunday in November but I’ll post the schedule soon on my FB page. I’ll let you know! I hope to see you and we should meet up in the barrio for a coffee sometime!

  5. Lindsay October 27, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Do you have a link to the 5k you´re planning to run??? I need some running motivation! 🙂

  6. madridyyoblog October 27, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Welcome to Madrid! 🙂

What do you think?

